The Bee Folks

Standard

I discovered this wonderful company a few years back at my second Pennsic War.

http://beefolks.com/

My lips were sunburned, and so chapped and dried I was miserable. And not only did I -not- have chap stick, but I hated it. I still hate chap stick, with a burning passion.

I was on my way to the camp store to suck it up and buy some chap stick, when I walked past the Bee Folks’ booth, and noticed the sold lip balms!!

I bought one of their Black Cherry lip balms and fell in love. They had a customer for life!

I love their company so much, and I’ve tried so many of their products I thought I’d share my views with all of you.

All of the links and pictures are directly from the Bee Folks web site and are not my property.

Lip Balms:

All their lip balms are made from Almond Oil, Jojoba Oil, Beeswax, Honey, Aloe, and Vitamin E.  Each is long lasting, and thick with out being heavy or sticky. What I love to do with these, is put them on when I go to bed, and in the morning, my lips are soft and lovely, and there is still balm on my lips. Amazing.

Spending lots of time in the hospital lately, we’ve come to rely on these balms to keep our lips from drying out. Also, it’s wonderful to put on cracked skin around and under your nose.

Black Cherry is by far my favorite flavor. I just love the way it tastes. If you’ve ever had Cherry Garcia ice cream by Ben and Jerry, then you know the cherry flavor and scent in this balm. I’ve unfortunately surrendered this balm to my husband, as he isn’t a fan of pineapple…

Tropical Delight reminds me of a pinacolada, or being on the beach. It has a gentle pineapple flavor to it, and a hit of coconut…Sort of like the Hawaiin Tropic’s tanning oil. I’m a beach bum when I can be, and I just love this balm.

I can’t say enough good things about their lip balms, and they are well worth the 4 bucks. They last forever and a year. I’ve had the black cherry balm for almost 4 years now, and it’s still going strong, even after I left it in my make up case and it melted. I was able to squish it back into the tube and toss it into the fridge. It’s reformed nicely, and works just fine again.

Above is their Lavender Delight hand cream with Avocado and Jojoba Oils.

This solid lotion leaves your skin soft and smooth, with the smell of natural lavender.

If you’re looking for a lavender product like most retail sellers offer, keep looking. This scent is of pure, real, natural lavender, and is a bit spicy, not floral. I for one think this is a great thing, as I love the scent of lavender and have a rather impressive bush of it growing outside my front door.

Candles

Their candles have such a wonderful honey aroma. I just adore them. They cast their natural beeswax candles in almost any shape you could think of…from a garden gnome to a penis…you know you want a penis candle…you know you do.

Rather then burn the candles (although they burn just great!) you can stick them in the window in direct sunlight and enjoy their natural honey scent with out the candle loosing it’s shape.

I bought my mother an angel candle two years ago, and it still holds it’s scent after sitting in a window all this time.

HONEY TIME:

I have tried many of their honey flavors over the years…here are a few…

Killer Bee, Meadow Foam, Blackberry, Brazillian Pepper, Creamed Honey, Echinacea, Orange Blossom, Wildflower.

Quick Thoughts:

Killer Bee- Robust and bold flavored, but wonderful.

Meadow Foam- Takes 4 years to make, seriously. Is more expensive but well worth the extra cost. Tastes like toasted marshmellows and is AWESOME with chicken nuggets.

Brazillian Pepper: Spicy, but just enough. Has a great peppery flavor. I think it’d also rock on chicken nuggets, however I havent bought it in a large enough quantity to try it yet.

The other flavors I do believe a more distinguished pallet could tell apart, except for the creamed honey, which of course stands out with a buttery goodness.

Now…on to the good stuff…MEAD!

I’m not a lush, I swear. At Pennsic War this year, I discovered the amazing Bee Folks offer free mead samples every day! I got to try so many different flavors, and I made it a habit to swing by their booth on my way back to camp every day.

Here’s what I tried:

Blackberry, Blueberry, Cherry Gal, Elderberry, May, Midsummer, Raspberry, Spice

Now…I can safely say the only two I didn’t care for were the Raspberry and the May Meads. Both are a more dry mead, and I just don’t care for dry wines. If that’s your thing, hell you need to drink these meads….

As for the rest, I was in heaven!! By far the Spice Mead is my hands down favorite. It reminds me of everything that’s wonderful about fall.

Cherry Gal is a close second, and is just awesome. I however need to drink with caution, as I’ve found cherry wines or too much cherry in general gets me pretty sick!

I highly recomend their quick mead kits, for anyone who’s wanted to try mead in the past.

 

In closing, I can safely say that every year when I return to Pennsic, I buy something from this wonderful company. They offer free honey samples all day long, and they’re happy to answer any of the questions you may have. They’re always happy and in a great mood no matter how busy their booth is.

I hope I get to attend Pennsic next year, and I hope they’ll be there again. They really make my day, and I can’t wait to slather my lips in a new balm flavor.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

