Haulin’ Deals and Gifts

Standard

I went to Ulta…it was sort of my consolation prize for a crappy weekend of broken plans. ;_; I had wanted to go out, get my hair cut, and get some other running around done, but mother nature decided I needed to stay home. Thanks for the snow.

So to make myself feel better, I went to Ulta, which is right next to a store called 5 Below, where everything is under 5 dollars.

I didn’t go into Ulta expecting to buy much of anything, I like to check out their clearance section for deals on nail polishes….I very nearly bought one of the OPI PotC polishes: Of Stranger Tides, but decided against it at the last moment.

I did however go poking about around the salon, where the nail polish displays are…(I was hoping to squeeze in that hair cut, but when I checked my phone I only had 20min. ;_; ) And I found the display for the Nicki Minaj OPI collection. I was actually pretty shocked. Either Ulta got in a ton of the polishes, or they just weren’t that popular. Either way, I snagged Save Me, which is a bar-glitter polish. I’m kinda a fan. It’s really unique, and I most definitely don’t have another bar glitter polish!

Save Me

Save Me: Photo from Teen Vogue

I like the texture, it’s not think and it coated my nail wheel pretty well. I’ve yet to try it on my own nails yet. 2 coats seemed to do the trick. I forgot to grab this polish to take pics of it…I fail as a blogger. I did however remember my color wheel…It’s the one next to the blank nail.

Save Me Swatched

Save Me Swatched

I also picked up (because I had coupons!) another Maybelline Color Tattoo in Edgy Emerald (which I’m sorry, I feel looks more teal them emerald…) and the new Illegal Length mascara…which I’m in the process of wearing and trying out, and will do a review on soon.

Illegal Length Mascara and Color Tattoo

Illegal Length Mascara and Color Tattoo

My reaction to the Edgy Emerald was much like my reaction to Pomegranate Punk…and although the sales girl insists they’re “Highly Pigmented” I think we have a different idea of what a highly pigmented shadow is. I’ll keep wearing mine like a paint pot, thanks!

Edgy Emerald swatched no base

Edgy Emerald swatched no base

I still had a little time to kill after finishing up at Ulta, so I went next door to 5 Below to see if they had any more of those awesome toeless socks I like to use for dance. They didn’t. But they did have some other cute socks, which I picked up (one of which has a ninja on it…) and since the make-up isle wasn’t packed, I decided to check that out.

They have a rather impressive collection of wet n wild, none of which I was all that interested in. They also sell a few of the different Profusion Pallets, which I do like well enough, but lets face it. I like my BH Cosmetics 120 much more.

And then I turned around and they had their nail polish display actually all set up! Last time I was in, everything was in bags and it was impossible to look at anything.

I didn’t really see anything I wanted. All their polishes are $2.00 each or 3 for $5.00. I had nearly given up when I rounded the display and found their shatter polishes and HOLY MOLY would you look at this!! I found an awesome shatter and an amazing glitter!!

Teal Scales

Teal Scales

The shatter is a dark DARK teal color with glitter in it! LOVE IT. The brand is called Funky Fingers- AX10 Teal Scales. I bought it, and was VERY happily surprised at the the crackle effect it gives! It shatters really well, doesn’t suck up the color underneath, and it sparkles all pretty!! I really adore this color!!

Tinsel Town

Tinsel Town

The other Funky Fingers color I picked up is the lovely green glitter!! It sparkles so pretty!! 5129 Tinsel Town….the name makes me think maybe it was a X-Mas polish? I really don’t care. The polish is a green jelly base with green, iridescent, and silver fine fine glitter bits in it. It’s just LOVELY. 2 coats and it’s quite opaque. Color is amazingly true to the bottle!

For the price, this polish is such a win!

Hue and Resolution

Hue and Resolution

I also found (very cheap) at 5 below the discontinued line of Sally Hansen HD polish. It’s supposed to be a High Definition holographic polish. It came out around the same time the new Tron movie did. China Glaze released a line of HD polishes at the same time, and I kinda like their’s better to be honest. I don’t really get the holographic effect from this. You’re supposed to get a flash of rainbow in the light.

I picked up 12-Hue (Yellow) and 13-Resolution (Green)

With Hue, you sort of get this blue-ish flash in the bottle, but not so much once it’s on the nails. I don’t see any color flash with Resolution at all. Both have very fine pixel-like glitter to them, which does make them pretty but I feel they’re really kinda lacking that all around Holographic effect.

When I got home Monday, there was a package waiting for me…Which was odd…because I didn’t order anything!! Turns out it was from my awesome cousin Brigitte and her Hubby…and their fricken adorable baby.

Besides a bunch of great things, Brigitte sent me some new nail polishes!

Mint Sorbet and Lacey Lilac

Mint Sorbet and Lacey Lilac

Sally Hanson X-Treme Wear in 270-Lacey Lilac and 340-Mint Sorbet. Both colors very appropriate for Spring and all the respective Spring holidays! I like the X-Treme wear line, they go on very smooth and thick. 1 coat will do you, sometimes two depending on the streaking of the color. (like yellows, they tend to streak.)

She also sent me Pink Gel Coat by Perfect Formula. I’ve never heard of this brand before, so I’m curious to try it out. The box says…

“Creates a sheer pink protein rich coating which instantly strengthens, seals, and protects natural nails so they can grow long and strong.”

Mint Sorbet and Lacey Lilac

Pink Gel Coat

So apparently I use this under my base coat, and remove it once a week. Okay. I’m game! I’ll be doing a review on this product soon. I just cut down my nails last night, so as soon as my current manicure chips, I’ll be adding this to my routine!

That’s all I got for right now! Thanks for reading!

PS: Manicure is Did I Dye It Too Blonde by Spoild under Teal Scales Shatter/Crackle by Funky Fingers…Just in case you were wondering what my insane nail combo was.

Leave a Reply

