Review Maybelline Illegal Length Mascara

Standard
Illegal Length Mascara and Color Tattoo

Illegal Length Mascara and Color Tattoo

Ok…So when I saw the add for this, I was all M’eh about it…

And then I saw the commercial, and I was a little more excited about it…That being said, I decided I needed to try it.

So the Illegal Length Mascara’s claim to fame is that it adds 4mm to your lashes.

Hm.

It also claims “Instant Lash Extensions, No Flakes”.

Kay. No flakes are a bonus…I hate when my mascara flakes.

So the brush says it’s suppose to coat all your lashes, no flaking, no breaking. I liked the brush.

I picked up 931 Fiber Black…and this is a “Washable” Mascara…I’m going to assume that means it’s not waterproof…which I’ll figure out at the end of this blog.

My very first impression is…I like it. I’m not sure it’s the HUGE difference in length it claims, but I do like the way it goes on easily, and coats every single lash with out much effort. I also kinda dug how it separated the lashes well, and didn’t make them look like fluffy bushes, but rather natural, long, and dark.

Many of the mascaras I own, you really have to work it in there. This one, not so much. I just did a single coat on each side from the bottom, and got a very nice effect.

Natural Lashes

Natural lashes

Lashes w/ Illegal Length

Lashes w/ Illegal Length

I put this on around 9am, and continued to wear it through the entire day.

Around about 4pm I did notice flaking…quite of bit of it had settled under my eyes. No smearing, just flakes. Still…what happened to no flaking? I also noticed I had a headache most of the day starting about an hour after I put the mascara on.

After the flaking episode, I didn’t seem to have any more issues…or any more mascara left on…which I didn’t notice until the evening when I went to clean my face and check out that “Washable” part. I started with plain water and wiped it across my eyes. Nothing came off. Ok…maybe I needed makeup remover. So I tried my go to Clinique Take Off the Day remover…Nothing. What the hell? I took my hand mirror, and then realized there was NO MASCARA on my lashes. Not a bit. My lashes are naturally a very dark brown, but still, they were not black, not even a lick. All the mascara had come off at some point in time during the 11 hours I had tried it for.

I’m very disappointed in this mascara. It’s got no staying power (Since it had started flaking before 4), nor does it really seem to add any worth while length to my lashes (Any length it did add was in the legal limits)…AND it quite possibly could have been the cause of my headache!

Maybelline’s been hitting home runs lately, so I’m just kinda…bleh about this. I’ll be returning it to Ulta.

4 responses »

  1. Try one of the L’Oreal mascaras – according to Cosmetics Cop (the site behind the “Don’t Go To The Cosmetics Counter Without Me” book) L’Oreal mascaras are basically Lancome mascaras minus the outrageous price tag. I have to have waterproof, so I use the Voluminous Waterproof in dark brown (I have blonde eyelashes, so mascara is a must do for me).

    I’d love to see what you think of one of the L’Oreal mascaras when you have time to do more testing.

    • L’Oreal is the one brand I haven’t tried yet, strangely enough! You’d think I have with all the HIP shadows I have in my collection!
      Maybe I’ll exchange the Illegal Length for a L’Oreal one.

Leave a Reply

