Nail Art and Polish Review!

Standard

Oi! I’ve been so so so so busy lately!! And the summer shows no promise of slowing down for me until like July…and then only for a week or two! I guess I should be pretty grateful for being kept so busy.

Anywho…So has anyone else seen the new Border Nails trend? When I first saw a vlog/tutorial on it, I didn’t care for it much. The second one I saw, I liked a little bit better, and actually used that one on my own nails…but I’m still not sure if I actually like it. Maybe I haven’t found the right color combo?

Here’s what I’ve done thus far…

Border Art, Attempt 1

Border Art, Attempt 1

Here is the number one attempt…Red with a silver mini border around black…eeeeeh….I don’t know…The accent nail is silver with a black mini border around red. I’m not sure if it’s the color combo, if the silver was too bright and metallic, or if it was just the red that was bugging me. The manicure looked nice, it just wasn’t me. Red is Poinsettia from China Glaze Black is Lubu Heels from China Glaze, and the silver’s name escapes me. It’s from Sally Hansen’s X-Treme line.

Border Art Attempt 2

Border Art Attempt 2

So attempt 1 bugged me so much, I had to re-do it. I took out the mini border, and found a darker silver by OPI. I liked this a little bit more…I think around this point I decided it was the red that was bothering me. I’m just not a red polish type of gal.

Border Nails Attempt 3

Border Nails Attempt 3

I like this way more then the first two attempts, but I’m still not happy with it. Final conclusion is I just don’t think this new trend is for me. It’s very boxy and mod, and while it’s EXTREMELY easy nail art to do, it’s just NOT me. (Easy nail art- Paint entire nail. Take brush, paint in the middle part by doing 1 or 2 strokes of the middle color. Boom. Done.)

I am however digging the colors I used for Attempt 3. Both are from Wet n Wild’s newest Megalast collection, and might I say, I’m highly impressed! Both are dupes for China Glaze colors, both I love and both I don’t own myself! Ha!

The colors I used were I Need a Refresh-Mint and Wet Cement. Both cost me a whole $1.23 each…well…when you count the coupons I used, they each cost me 23 cents. SCORE!!! You can find the coupon in this week’s junk mail that came out on Tuesday.

I Need a Refresh-Mint is a dupe for China Glaze’s For Audrey. It’s a pretty Tiffany Blue. I’d been on the fence about getting For Audrey for some time now, I own a ton of teals and sea-foam colors, but for 23 cents? Yes, I was going to get this polish.

Wet Cement is a dupe for China Glaze’s Foie Gras from the Hunger Games collection…of which I LOVE. It’s a brown-toned grey color, and while it doesn’t sound appealing, it’s very sophisticated and mature, but still has an edgy attitude.

I really like these polishes, they go on smooth, and the brush is nice. They’re rich but not thick, and the color pay off is awesome. For the $1.23 price tag (prices vary, I got mine at Marc’s) they are completely worth it…however I wasn’t impressed with the colors offered in the line as a whole. It may have just been the store I was at, but they didn’t offer a large array of colors. I’m hoping that changes in the future, or I find a better selection at another store.

I Need a Refresh-Mint over Wet Cement by Wet n Wild

I Need a Refresh-Mint over Wet Cement by Wet n Wild

2 responses »

  1. Meh not as much a fan of the border art either, your color choices are great, but I will stick with gradients. Or color blocks, or temporary tattoos. Thanx for all your wonderful posts!

Leave a Reply

