Fashion February! Part 3

Standard

A day late! Oh nose!

I’m a day late for a reason…Today is suppose to be stormy, and crappy, and yesterday was sunny and 80 degrees and wonderful, so I did my running around yesterday. I went to Ulta, and got a new haircut. I’m mostly happy with the results, but this morning I’m in the awkward phase where the left over product is doing strange things to my hair…Actually, yesterday the sylist had some trouble with it. She used a color-stay shampoo to protect the teal ends, and my hair sort of freaked out. She had to rewash it, much to her own shock. I tried warning her…I only use sulfate free products on my hair. Ah well…I’m going to wash it in a bit, so we’ll see what happens.

I was trying to make a video for a Frozen Sing Along Compilation that’s being put together, but my camera is dead…so after it gets some juice, I’ll film it, then shower this product out…I’ve apparently big plans for today, can you tell?

On to the Fashion…

100_3305

Saturday’s outfit…This is one of my best finds from Torrid ever. Original price of this floral maxi dress? 69.99! I got it for…wait for it…wait for it… 7 dollars. I’m not even kidding. There is one small problem with this dress, it’s very low cut, and the cups are on the smaller size, it’s a size 1 in Torrid, and I usually wear a size 2. I am making some major life changes very soon, so I’m hoping the boobies will fit better into the top of the dress shortly. until then, I pair this with a grey lace trimmed bandeau that matches the grey background of the dress. It looks like it’s part of the dress, and works just fine. I paired this strapless maxi with a long black jersey knit sweater to make it work appropriate, and my teal sandals.

100_3307

Sunday. I bought this white shirt at Its Fashion for 6 dollars because I was freezing a few weeks ago when the temp never reached 75 as promised. I dont know if I’m too fond of it, but since I did buy it I felt I’d take it for a test drive on a laid back Sunday. Paired this with my favorite black lace trimmed tank from Lane Bryant and my dark denim capris from Torrid that I got on clearance last year from a store closing event for 10 bucks. My sandals are by Sketchers (from the Shoe Dept. About 34.00), and I love them. They’re my go-to comfy run around shoes.

100_3308

100_3312 100_3311 100_3310

Monday was a flashback to my middle school days…minus the shoes. Grey jersey knit top (which I’m planning to add a lace applique to when I find one I like), in a high low style purchased from It’s Fashion for 15 bucks. It came with a stretchy belt and a gold necklace, both I removed. I turned my old long black sweater into a long flowing vest. The sleeves had holes in them, hence why I had to get a new one (above), but the body is in decent shape, so I up-cycled the old one into this vest.The pants are jean-leggings from Wal-Mart (12 dollars).

My accessories are a mish-mosh of things I’ve had for years, save for the shoes and headband. Shoes are from It’s Fashion for 7.99 and I pretty much love these…the only thing I’m not fond of, is the no-slip bottoms. EVERYTHING sticks to them. Fur, dirt, twigs, leaves, everything. It’s pretty gross. I’m hoping as the soles wear down this will stop. My headband I got at the Beals outlet for 3 dollars. My cuff bracelet was purchased about 10 years ago in Salem, MA at a little gift shop, and the necklace I’ve had since 1995. I honestly can’t remember where it came from, more than likely Claire’s or a like store. I just remember I’ve always loved this piece because it’s a disk of the Zodiac.  I wore this pretty much every single day in 8th grade.

100_3313Tuesday. I’m still not sure I like this top…bought it on a whim at Wal-Mart for 12.49 because I thought the pattern was pretty and I liked to flowy fabric. I paired it here with my black lace trimmed tank (It had come with a magenta tank) and my Torrid dark denim capris and black woven sandals.  I ended up wearing my long black jersey sweater over this, and liked it much better. I feel like the busy floral print on the white around the stomach area just draws attention to it where there’s a blank space rather than helps flatter it.

100_3317 100_3315 100_3314

My prized find! I found this dress at Beal’s Outlet for 7.50. The original designer price? 79.00!!! SCORE! I love this dress, the fabric is flowy, yet very heavy and stretchy. The bottom and top pictures are more true to color than the middle. At the waist, there’s a drawstring with pearl and stone accents at the bottom. I’m still trying to figure out where this drawstring should lay, if it’s under bust or mid-waist. I have a very long torso, so it doesn’t quite sit right when I wear it around the waist. The dress is a drop sleeve, so where as it’s sleeveless, it comes down just passed the shoulders making it appropriate for the office. I paired it with a flow cropped white sweater for work, and my killer nude sandals.

I eyed this dress for about 4 weeks…and kept saying “Ok, if it’s there next payday…” I wasnt sure it was going to be flattering, bit is, and I’m happy with it, and I adore the pleats and the way the fabric moves. It’s great and was worth the 7.50 and the wait!

BONUS DAY! I usually only do 5 days, but since I went out and about yesterday…

100_3318 100_3319

Here’s my dress that I went about in, over a black bandeau. I purchased this dress last year at Gabriel Brother’s for about 13 dollars. This was pre-haircut.

The polish is by Hard Candy. Accent nail is 730 Jaw Breaker and the other fingers are 733 Candy Coated. I think I have 3 or 4 coats. This is going to be a nightmare to remove, but the waretime has been pretty awesome with minimal chipping and no top coat.

100_3328 100_3329

Post-haircut with makeup for the sing-a-long video, inspired of course by Queen Elsa. Shadows are from the Acid Pallet by Sleek cosmetics (got mine on Amazon for around 8 bucks), and the BH Cosmetics 120 palette. bhcosmetics.com. Gloss is from Nyx.

Leave a Reply

